Rating system

Every book reviewed comes with a star rating at the bottom of the review. The ratings go from 1 to 5, with 1 being the lowest and 5 being the highest. Half stars are given too, and they mean the book was slightly better than the preceding rating.

  • 1 star: Terrible book. Makes me want to tear my hair out.
  • 1 ½ stars: Really bad book, but has redeeming qualities.
  • 2 stars: Meh. This is neither good nor bad for me.
  • 2 ½ stars: Overall, it’s a meh book, but I kind of enjoyed it. It’s a forgettable read.
  • 3 stars: I liked it but didn’t think it was amazing.
  • 3 ½ stars: Really enjoyable read. I would recommend, even when it may not be a particularly enthralling read.
  • 4 stars: Great book. It had flaws, but it’s still recommended.
  • 4 ½ stars: Fantastic book. It doesn’t necessarily have any noticeable flaws, but they’re books that would be read just once.
  • 5 stars: These are reserved mostly for all-time favourites or books that would be read and reread plenty of times.