5 Books That Left Me Shattered

There are times in which you read books and by the end you feel as if the author has gotten your heart out of your chest and eaten it veins and all in front of you. I trust you know how it feels – all the pain and all the wishes for being indifferent towards characters – so I am now going to list the top 5 books that have left me feeling depression, or in other words, have left me shattered. In no particular order…

1) The Curse of the Wendigo (The Monstrumologist, #2) by Rick Yancey

7775755

Initially, I wanted to choose The Final Descent, which is the last installment of this series I love, but then I realised that what I ended up feeling because of that book was more thanks to Yancey playing with my mind than with my feelings (although it was still heartbreaking – very much so), so I chose this one, which happens to be the only one in which romance plays an important part.

This book was like a stab in the back when you less expected it, like a trusted friend betraying you, like any awful thing you can think about. It’s about how love can hurt us, and of course about the rest of the things The Monstrumologist is about, but damn it, this was the only of these books that left me with my heart hanging from my chest. Not to be so pushy, but from all the books in this list, this is the one I recommend the most.

2) Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Harry Potter, #5) by J.K. Rowling

2

True, books 6 and 7 of this series are more shocking than this one, and (SPOILER ALERT!) they’re darker and with more deaths, but Sirius Black. The reason why his death was the saddest for me has nothing to do with my liking of that particular character – it was the worst death for me because it was the one that affected Harry the most.

When you connect to characters, you start feeling their happiness and pain too, so obviously it hurt a lot. Damn, just thinking about it makes me feel miserable again. And just like that is that I know there was no way a Harry Potter book wouldn’t be part of a list like this one.

3) The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

19063

The narrator in this book basically spoils you the finale, but damn it, that doesn’t make it any less sad. It leaves you confused at first, then as the ending approaches you start sensing things will end badly, and when the final events hit you, you get terribly depressed. I think the tragedy coming as a surprise does less damage than knowing it will happen and when it will happen. There’s a reason we don’t know the exact moment we will die, don’t you think? Just picture how it would feel knowing when you’re going to die.

4) Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

18490

This is one of those books in which the protagonist tries to play God. If you’ve read plenty of those books, you already know they almost always end badly (I say “almost always” because maybe some of you know about any exceptions, and I don’t want to generalise)… and there’s also a big probability that you’ve studied this book at some point of your life, so you might know that this is indeed tragic.

Tragic because it made me feel pity towards a character I should probably despise, and it made me angry towards someone who could have been a victim had he not been the one who caused his tragedy (am I making sense?). And also because the story itself is utterly tragic.

In short, because it’s a truly heart-wrenching book.

5) Of Love and Other Demons by Gabriel García Márquez

23876

I read this book thanks to the insistence of my coblogger Tash – she said it was one of her favourite books, and who was I to question that? But I read it without expecting the punch in the gut this book was. Not only did it make me sad, but it also made me angry as hell. Because the actions of some characters were product of narrow minds, and their actions is what led to the tragic events at the end and throughout the book.

So those are top 5 books that have left me like this by the end:

Which are yours? Or do you have a cold heart like I usually do? Tell me in the comments!


v

14 thoughts on “5 Books That Left Me Shattered

  1. The Book Thief crushed me. I feel like having death as the narrator only further highlights the horrors of war. I absolutely love the book and it remains to be one of my all time favourites.

    Like

  2. Book 5 of Harry Potter was definitely the book of the series that crushed me the most. Argh, the pain was so raw!

    While I do get quite weepy in books, there are few of those that really remain with me and pack an emotional punch to this day. I’d have to say All Quiet on the Western Front was one of those, as well as Tell the Wolves I’m Home, On the Jellicoe Road and The God of Small Things.

    Like

  3. YES ABSOLUTELY YES TO THE BOOK THIEF. I STILL HAVEN’T RECOVERED FROM THAT OMG. *wails* I even saw the movie first so the narrator hadn’t spoiled it for me and I had noooo idea what was coming…but THEN I READ THE BOOK AND KNEW WHAT WOULD HAPPEN AND I WAS STILL SO DEVASTATED OMG. *weeps for a thousand years*
    I think All the Bright Places would go on my list of books that left me shattered. Also Allegiant. I love them both so much but I AM IN PIECES.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Neither have I. T_T I’ve wanted to do a rereadfor AGES, but I know I’ll end up shattered AGAIN. Even while reading the book, I kept hoping Death was just tricking us and there was a small hope for a little happiness, but nope, Death wass telling the truth and the book still hit me hard on the chest. And ikr? It’s like we love the most the books that leave us in pieces. Is that being a masochist?

      Like

  4. Book 5 is probably my least favorite HP book because Harry spends the whole time talking angrily in capital letters.:p But you make a good point about Sirius. He’s one of my favorite characters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

